As soon as a domain is added to your control panel, a directory for your site is created. This directory is where your website will reside on our servers; often referred to as the “domain root” or “root directory”.
Your root directory contains several default files and directories. Their names will differ depending on your plan, yet most of them are common for all plans.
The logs directory
It contains directories for each site with transfer logs enabled. Each such directory contains its own set of log files that are required to write and read the data about all visits to your sites. Deleting the Logs directory will cause the loss of the web statistics accumulated over the course of your site’s operation.
The virtual-FTP directory
This directory is created when you enable Virtual FTP Server and can be accessed by virtual FTP users to list and download its content. Deleting Virtual FTP directories will cause incorrect operation of Virtual FTP. However, you may harmlessly delete individual files in these directories.
The ssl.conf directory
This directory stores SSL pairs for all encrypted sites. Deleting the ssl.conf directory will result in incorrect SSL operation.
The Webalizer or Modlogan directories
Each of these directories is created by default or when the stat programs Webalizer and Modlogan are enabled from your control panel. Deleting these directories will disable your statistic programs and remove any accumulated site statistics.
The cp directory
This folder contains many of the help and example files used as you navigate our control panel. These files are not essential and can be deleted.
The cgi-bin directory
This is the default location that you place any CGI or Perl applications. You can modify which files and folders can be used.
The images directory
The images folder is the location where the default index page images are placed. Deleting any of the files/folders in your web space can affect the performance of your website.
In addition to the above directories, there will be a temporary index page index.html. This page is just a default place holder that will be removed or replaced by your website once published or uploaded.
The files and folders that compose your site must be transferred to the server. Each of your domains and subdomains are located in their own directories. They are named the same as your site’s domain name. If you have more than one site, you will have several such directories. These are the directories where you will upload your .html or other files that you want to make accessible to the Internet.
Many of the popular site design programs have built in publishing features that will simplify the upload process. Whenever possible, upload your site using these included features. For instance, if you made your site with SiteStudio or Dream weaver, use their integrated web publishing tools to upload your site. If you made your site with a text editor or an application that does not include a publish feature you will need to use a freestanding FTP client, such as Filezilla, SmartFTP, or the control panel file manager, WebShell, to upload these files.
NOTE: Site publishing tools do not remove your old web content from the server. For instance, if you used SiteStudio to upload a site with 15 pages, and later you published an update on 7 of these pages. The directory will have the 7 updated pages and the 8 old pages that have not been updated. If you publish many versions of a website, the site may become cluttered with old files, which can cause problems.
WARNING: If you have a complete website, be careful not to overwrite it with any updates. It is also highly recommended to make backups, of your website content and store it on a local device, often. ALWAYS create a backup of old content BEFORE updating any pages, files, or folders.